What I’ve Learned

Published May 6, 2013 by Vida Caramela
English: A graph showing where electronic aggr...

English: A graph showing where electronic aggression occurs. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There is so much to learn from observation. Here in the Blogosphere that is especially true. For example, I have only been a member of the blogging community for about 1 month now(anniversary in 3 days), and in this relatively short amount of time I have seen some STUFF. I’ve seen a number of blogs where the authors have been attacked and disrespected on their own sites.  Let me be clear, I’m not referring to any comments that simply express disagreement with the author’s view, I’m talking about comments of the bullying kind.

Whenever you have  an individual who dominates a blogger’s comments section with name-calling and disparaging remarks to the point that the blogger expresses distress, or whenever a commenter lacks the decency to disagree respectfully while speaking out on someone else’s blog, and  persists in launching meaningless  attacks over and again, it’s not a debate, it’s a shameless act of blog-bullying, plain and simple. I hate to see it, in the same way I’m outraged when I see bullying in the physical world, and I’m doing my best to make sure that I don’t fall prey to this ugly practice.

Part of my study  includes observing those bloggers who just ain’t having it.  I’m a believer in learning from the pros, and here in the Blogosphere there are people who behave like sharks, others like victims, and still others like shark-fighters. For that matter, there are bathers of all types swimming in the pool.  I’m taking it all to the bank. I’m making this my classroom, and  I’m cashing in on every lesson.

As a student, I like to read the opinions of other  bloggers, I enjoy getting honest feedback, and hearing suggestions, so by all means talk to me. I’m open, both to encouragement and to disagreement, but know that This Be My House, and if you happen to be one of those to disrespectful individuals that I described above, if you’re picturing yourself coming into my house to try and rip me or any of my visitors to shreds, then you might as well not even bother, because you won’t be doing that here. I always do my homework. As soon as you make contact with me, I start studying you. If you behave  like a shark, you are not welcome in my house.

9 comments on “What I’ve Learned

    • Thank you BP for your wonderful blog, and for your kind comment. I truly enjoy reading your posts. You provide a lot of helpful and interesting information. I would also like to thank you for nominating me for the “Interesting Blog Award”. I feel very honored that you find my blog interesting. You have payed me a great compliment.

  • Hear, hear!

    There’s no reason for these people to leave such comments (if you’d even call them comments). They seem to do it for attention mostly, and seem to also enjoy attacking others for no reason at all, except to be controversial.
    I too only just joined the blogging world, and luckily have not gotten any of this…yet. I’m guessing it’s only a matter of time, but I’m prepared to deal with it swiftly and judiciously in order to keep my place same for all.

  • I truly believe, TarnishedSophia, that you are an amazing person. You are someone worth paying attention to, because you possess those characteristics that make it difficult for a bully to target you. Your comment policy is a clear indication of that, and I think we all have a lot to learn from you. You are confident, kind, wise, and honest. I am inspired by you.

    • Thank you so much, lovely Vida. I must say that I very deeply appreciate your kind and generous words. Your site inspires me as well! 🙂

      I should point out that you are (quite unfortunately) incorrect about one thing; I am not the type of person who can deflect bullies…at least away from myself. I was bullied from 2nd grade on, and even a bit in college. I seem to be fantastic at standing up for others who are the “true” targets, but that only means the hatred/mockery/taunts get thrown at me instead.

      Luckily, I no longer allow that to happen…but I think that I may be so sympathetic to others at least in part because I understand what it’s like to be hit, pushed down stairs, shoved around, have property stolen, etc.

      My Monday post in a few days is going to be about “Friend Zones” (from both sides of the fence), but next Monday I will do a post about bullying and gender norms.

      Once again, you have my thanks for such endearing and wonderful comments. 🙂

    • Thank you BP. I am honored that you hold my work in such high regard. I am most thankful to know that anything I have written has inspired you. The work you do on your blog is amazing. It’s meaningful, powerful, and noteworthy, and you do it with such superior artistry. You’ve got my respect, my gratitude, and support. I’m glad we are part of the same Family.

  • Leave a Reply

